Crea sito

Spring 2011 NABC: Vanderbilt Cup

Posted on 14 March 2011

leggi in italiano »

 Louisville is the most important town of Kentucky, more than one million of inhabitants, on the Ohio River. The time zone is East Coast (GMT-5; CET-6), but the saving daylight time has started yesterday in Kentucky, then count respectively -4 and -5.

The Vanderbilt Cup is the most important trophy of the Spring North America Championship. It was donated by Harold Stirling Vanderbilt, the man who invented the contract bridge. It happened in the night of October 31th 1925, crossing the Panama Channel in the steamship Finlandia with his friends, but we’ll tell it another time. Just we like to recall that H.S. Vanderbilt also invented the Strong Club, and that he has won three times the sail America’s Cup: 1930, 1934, 1937 (in 1932 and in 1940 he won his own bridge cup!).

It is important to know that the points earned in Vanderbilt Cup will affect the starting place in the trials, where the winner will be second US team for the 2011 Bermuda Bowl (the first one, winners of 2010 trials, is that of Fleisher: Fleisher-Kamil, Levin-Weinstein, Martel-Stansby. See www.USBF.Org). Better will be the position earned here, in Vanderbilt Cup, higher will be the starting one there, in the trials that will take place in May, at Green Valley Ranch in Las Vegas, immediately after the Cavendish.

Vanderbilt Cup is in KO format; the roster now counts 67 teams: it must thin out to 64, so having a power of 2 as it need in a KO event. Today 54 teams rest and 13 play for ten places; tomorrow, the KO stage will start.

At the moment, the Diamond team (Diamond-Platnik, Gitelman-Moss, Greco-Hampson) has already earned the bye in trials’ quarter finals because the results in preceding 2010 NABC, Reisinger and Spingold. If they get the final in current Vanderbilt, also being runners up, they will start the trials from semifinals. The other teams can hope only to enter quarterfinals, in the best case. Last, the teams that employs foreign player will have only a part of the placement score, but, of course, life is no only made of score: the victory is worth more!

 The Italians playing the Vanderbilt Cup are: Fulvio Fantoni and Claudio Nunes in Zimmerman team, last year winner (but the Italians didn’t play in 2010). Lorenzo Lauria with Alfredo Versace, and Giorgio Duboin with Antonio Sementa, in Jimmy Cayne’s team. Norberto Bocchi and Guido Ferraro in Jacobs team. Gabriella Olivieri and Dano De Falco in the team of Patricia Cayne.


Paolo Enrico Garrisi


(Visited 457 times, 1 visits today)

Comments are closed.

Giorgino Duboin’s column

Italian style 02The Neapolitan Club staff is honoured to welcome a new illustrious contributor: Giorgino Duboin. The great Italian champion will write a series of articles mostly dedicated to his international bridge activities. Duboin’s Column »

Norberto Bocchi’s column

MyWay-logoThe great Italian champion Norberto Bocchi contributes articles on a regular basis to Neapolitan Club. Norberto refers in his column ‘My Way’ to political issues which may arise in the bridge world and sometimes he describes interesting hands. Read Bocchi’s column»   Read Bocchi’s interviews»

Rhoda Walsh Notes

Rhoda_WalshWalsh No Trump Notes by Rhoda Walsh: a study on No Trump openings with their developments  in uncontested and contested auctions. Table of Contents »
Annotations by Rhoda Walsh on the 1 Notrump game forcing  response in the "2 over 1 game forcing system" (Walsh System).Table of Contents»

Simply the Best

Best articles by Paolo Enrico Garrisi: open »

Let’s talk to the Champions!

Best interviews run by Laura Camponeschi: open »

Momorizing at Bridge

Are there techniques to develop some specific memory? Could be possible to make a choice of what might be more useful to memorize? Read what the champions say: open »

Silvio Sbarigia


SILVIO SBARIGIA is a pharmacist; he was born in Rome and lives there. He has won the European championship in 1975 with legendary Blue Team, runner up at 1974’s and at Olympic games of 1976.  Sbarigia is member of Neapolitan Club Technical Commettee. His bridge problems aren’t difficult; just we need to think on a plan and to avoid the instinctive playing. Bridge quizzes by Sbarigia »

Laura Cecilia Porro

Laura-Cecilia-Porro 142
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.