Get a site

2013 February – Bridge World News

leggi in italiano »


Denmark – Michael Barel and Yaniv Zack from Israel won the the second edition of the Copenhagen Bridge Invitational. Secon place to Michel and Thomas Bessis (Father & Son) from France. The event took place from 22 to 24 of Febraury at at the Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center in Copenhagen (Denmark).

Denmark – Helle Rasmussen from Denmark and Michael Barel from Israel won the Pro/Am tournament at the II Copenhagen Bridge Invitational. The event took place on Frebruary 21 at the Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center in Copenhagen (Denmark). 

The Netherlands – The 8th White House Junior Internationals will be held from from 17-22 March 2013 in Amsterdam (The Netherlands). The programme and the participating teams  have been published at the official site of the event: 

England – England won both the Junior Camrose and the Peggy Bayer. Scotland were runners up in both event. The Junior Camrose and the Peggy Bayer Trophy are the home international competitions for, respectively, players under 25 and players under 20. Both events took place 17-18 February in Manchester. In each there were teams from England, Ireland, Northern Ireland and Scotland (Wales did not take part). The English Junior Camrose team (winners): Tom Paske & Graeme Robertson Shivam Shah & Basil Letts, Dan McIntosh & Sarah O’Connor and David Gold (npc). The Scottish Junior Camrose team (runners- up): Phil Morrison & Frazer Morgan, Yvonne & Ralph Wiseman, Iain Graham & Jake Milne and Alex Wilkinson (npc). The English Peggy Bayer team Winners)  Freddie Illingworth & Kyle Lam, Toby Nonnenmacher & Michael Alishaw, Rhys Munden & Ben Norton and Michael Byrne (npc). The Scottish Peggy Bayer team (runners-up): Jun Nakamaru-Pinder (playin captain) & Stewart Pinkerton, Jenny Middleton & Olivia Bailey, Calum Stout & Tom Browning.

England – The EBU (English Bridge Union) announced the team for the 2013 White House Juniors International Tournament to be held in Amsterdam from the 17th to the 22nd March: Tom Paske & Graeme Robertson, Rob Myers & James Thrower.

Norway – Grøtheim Team won the Norwegian Teams Championship 1st Division: Glenn Grøtheim, Ulf Tundal, Allan Livgård, Terje Aa, Espen Erichsen, Erlend Skjetne. Secon place went to Oslo1: Jon Sidney Furunes, Dag Jensen, Runar Darlene Lillevik, Øyvind Ludvigen, Jan Mikkelsen and John Kåre Schjelderupsen. Third place to Norway1: Rune Hauge, Geir Helgemo, Christer Kristoffersen, Anna Maria Malinowski, Jan Petter Svendsen ed Erik Sælensminde. The final stages of Norwegian Team Championshp were played on the weekend of February 9-10, 2013.

USA – February 6, 2013 Ira Rubin dead in Edison, N.J. at age of 82. The cause was heart disease. He was one ot the world’s greatest player and innovative theorist. Playing with Paul Soloway, Rubin was a member of the winning team in the 1976 Bermuda Bowl in Monte Carlo.

England – The English Bridge Union (EBU) annunced the team for Lady Milne: Jane Moore, Gillian Fawcett, Susanna Gross, Sally Brock, Pauline Cohen and Lizzie Godfrey. The event will be held in Scotland on the weekend of April 12-14, 2013 at the Novotel in Edinburgh Park.

The Netherlands – Onno Esked (45) is the new not-playing captain of the Dutch Open Team. He succeds Eric Laurant who led the Orange Tema to its historical victory of 2011 Bermuda Bowl in Veldhoven. The first challenging task for Onno will be to lead the team for the upcoming World Championships in Bali together with coach Ton Bakkeren.


This artcle will be updated throughout the month of February.

(Visited 475 times, 1 visits today)
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.