Get a site

Roy Hughes wins the Master Point Press Book of the Year Award 2012

leggi in italiano »

Canadian expert Roy Hughes has written four bridge books: Building a Bidding System, Card by Card, Canada’s Bridge Warriors: Murray & Kehela, and The Contested Auction – all have been shortlisted for the Master Point Press Book of the Year Award. Hughes won the 2007 award for Canada’s Bridge Warriors. Now he has won the 2012 award for his latest, The Contested Auction

Hughes’ background in mathematics and linguistics has led him to think a great deal about the theory and structure of effective bidding systems. In The Contested Auction, he turns to the theory and practice of competitive auctions, a critical component of the modern game. Beginning by establishing what the bidding system needs to accomplish, Hughes goes on to discuss every type of contested auction, and recommends useful methods and agreements from which the reader can select. This is an up-to-date discussion, covering many topics in detail that have at best seen cursory treatment in print up to now.

Hughes discusses “different philosophies and strategies to cope with the modern vernacular, stressing the importance of clarity of principles, comfort with agreed methods, and a commitment to understanding any treatment and its consequences before adopting it.”



“Bridge at the Edge” – Boye Brogeland & David Bird

“It’s All in the Game” – Bob Ewen & Jeff Rubens

“The Deadly Defence Quiz Book” – Wladyslaw Izdebski, Roman Krzemien & Ron Klinger

“Defend or Declare?”– Julian Pottage

“The Amazing Queen” – Clement Wong


John Carruthers

August 26, 2012

(Visited 150 times, 1 visits today)
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.