Zaleski repeats victory in 2011 Italy Cup

leggi in italiano »

Chronicle of a Victory Foretold. Team Zaleski(with D’Avossa, Giubilo, Intonti, Lauria, Versace) won the 2011 Italy Cup, defeating in the final Team Vinci (with De Falco, Ferraro, Lo Presti, Hugony, Mariani, Sementa) by 156 to 120. In the play-off Team Uggeri from Varese defeated Team Maggio from Roma by 103 to 88 and reached the bronze medal.


Zaleski team had won the title also last year with the same line up. In the current edition no team seemed to able to counter them, even if in the final match we have actually seen a great battle.

Both the captains of finalist teams are financiers and businessmen. Romain Zalesky, born in Paris, engineer, at the end of seventies went to Italy becoming CEO of the Tassara Holding (metals). He’s one of the richest men in the world; his work is mainly in Milano, but his home is at Breno (Val Camonica, Lombardia). Francesco Saverio Vinci, of Milano, is a banker. He entered Mediobanca in 1987 and now he’s General Director and vice-president of the executive committee. Also Golf player.

The Italian Cup final stage took place in the usual venue of the “Palazzo dei Congressi” in Salsomaggiore Terme (Parma) from 15 to 18 December 2011. This was the last event of the 2001 season: the winners of the Men section, Zaleski’s players, are awarded with the Giorgio Belladonna Trophy.

The winners of the Women section, Laveno Mombello Bernasconi’s Team, are awarded with the Anna Valenti Trophy: Arrigoni, Golin, Olivieri, Paoluzi, Rosetta, Vanuzzi.  Silver medal to Team D’Apice from Roma and bronze to Team Nardullo who defeated in the play-off Team Bordighera Capitani.


December 18, 2011

(Visited 128 times, 1 visits today)
Previous Entries John Carruthers: Bridge in the 21th century Next Entries Zaleski vince la Coppa Italia 2011