Wagar Women’s KO Teams: Three Chinese Teams got semi-finals

Leggi in italiano »

Vegas-web-bannerMargaret Wagar (1902-1990) was one of the three greatest all time American women (the other were Helen Sobel and Sally Young); the summer NABC schedules the Knock-out Women Team dedicated to her. There were thirteen registered teams, in 2014’s Wagar, exactly as last year; this event is shadowed from the Spingold, which is played in the same days and gathers ninety-four teams (seventy-three last year). Margaret Wagar, the player, won twice the Spingold, the event: in 1946 and 1948.

The thirteen teams were rectified to eight in the opening round. In quarter-finals Lynn Baker defeated Nancy Katz; China Red defeated Sylvia Moss, the number 1 seed and title holder; China Blue defeated Phyllis Fireman; Beijing Huayjan defeated Linda Nitabach. The semi-finals are as following:

China Red (Wenfei Wang, Ran Jingrong, Hongli Wang, Lu Yan, Yu Zhang, Shao Hong Wu)

vs Beijing Huayuan (Sun Ming, Dong Yongling Jiang Lu Yan Ru);


China Blu (Yanhong Wang, Hu Wen, Shen Qi, Zhou Lihua, Li Lixuan, Yiting Li)

vs Baker (Lynn Baker, Karen McCallum, Kerri Sanborn, Irina Levitina, Jo Anna Stansby).


Many European players won the Wagar, but only in American Teams; neither Chinese teams nor players won it before. Lynn Baker and Karen McCallum won four times: 2003, 2005, 2008, 2010; Irina Levitina also won four times, in 1993, 1995, 2008, 2010, but the record is by Lynn Deas, who won it seven times, last one just the past year with Sylvia Moss.



(Visited 392 times, 1 visits today)
Previous Entries Wagar Women’s KO Teams: Tre Squadre Cinesi entrano in Semifinale Next Entries 2014 Spingold - Italians in Las Vegas: Day 3