Crea sito

Categorized | ENGLISH, Events

Vinci books a sensational win in 2012 Italian Team Championships

Posted on 01 May 2012

leggi in italiano »

2012 Italian Open  Team Championships.  Team Vinci won the tournament by beating Lavazza in the final round by 24 to 6 and thus earned the title of  “Italian Champion 2012″. Team Vinci performed unsurprisingly well given it lined up French champions Thomas and Michel Bessis and the Italians (now Monaco citizens) Fulvio Fantoni and Claudio Nunes, together with Francesco Saverio Vinci and his partner Fabrizio Hugony. Mr. Vinci, a top executive at Mediobanca SA,  is the captain/sponsor of the winning squad.

Runner-up Lavazza-Associato Allegra from Turin lined up the usual players: Norberto Bocchi, Giorgio Duboin, Guido Ferraro, Maria Teresa Lavazza, Agustin Madala, Antonio Sementa.

The tournament must have been quite disappointing for Francesco Angelini who fielded a powerful team: Alfredo Versace and Lorenzo Lauria, together with Dutch world champions Sjoert Brink and Bas Drijver. Their third pair was Mr. Angelini and Valerio Giubilo. The Dutch pair was not in good shape and they did not play in the crucial match Angelini v Lavazza.

Last years’s winner, the team captained by Romain Zaleski’s team (Zaleski Bridge Reno) did not perform well either finishing last. Here is the final ranking:

The Italian National Open Spring Championships took place in Salsomaggiore (Parma) from the 28th of April to the 1st of May 2012. The Excellence Division featured 10 teams. These Championships are played in one round robin, 9 16-board matches, scored with the 25/0 scale. The first seven teams qualify to the Excellence Division 2013. The last three teams are demoted to the A Division 2013.

In Women category the winners are: Gianna Arrigoni, Antonella Caggese, Caterina Ferlazzo, Gabriella Manara, Simonetta Paoluzi and Ilaria Saccavini ( TENNIS CLUB PARIOLI ASD – SANTOLINI A.G.). Runner up Fornaciari Team (Reggio Emilia): Angela De Biasio, Barbara Dessì, Donatella Gigliotti, Cristina Golin, Gabriella Olivieri, Claudia Pomares y Be Morant. Third  place to last edition (2011) winners: Silvia Martellini, Debora Campagnano, Marina Causa, Emanuela Fusari, Chiara Martellini and Silvia Piscitelli (Martellini – Genova Bridge).


May 1th, 2012


(Visited 230 times, 2 visits today)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


Norberto Bocchi


MyWay-logoThe great Italian champion Norberto Bocchi contributes articles on a regular basis to Neapolitan Club. Norberto refers in his column ‘My Way’ to political issues which may arise in the bridge world and sometimes he will describe interesting hands. Read Bocchi's column»   Read Bocchi's interviews»

Laura Cecilia Porro

Laura-Cecilia-Porro 142


Vote our website: click here>>

Silvio Sbarigia


Silvio Sbarigia

SILVIO SBARIGIA is a pharmacist; he was born in Rome and lives there. He has won the European championship in 1975 with legendary Blue Team, runner up at 1974’s and at Olympic games of 1976.  Sbarigia is member of Neapolitan Club Technical Commettee. His bridge problems aren’t difficult; just we need to think on a plan and to avoid the instinctive playing. Bridge quizzes by Sbarigia »

Rhoda Walsh Notes

Rhoda_WalshWalsh No Trump Notes by Rhoda Walsh: a study on No Trump openings with their developments  in uncontested and contested auctions. Table of contents » Annotations by Rhoda Walsh on the 1 Notrump game forcing  response in the "2 over 1 game forcing system" (Walsh System). <a title="" href="" target="_blank"><span style="color: #000080;">Table of Contents&gt;&gt;</span></a></strong></span></p> <p style="text-align: center;">

Rhoda Walsh


Rhoda Walsh  (in a picture of the late Sixties)Walsh Systen 2/1 gf - Annotations by Rhoda Walsh on the 1 Notrump game forcing  response in the "2 over 1 game forcing system" (Walsh System). Table of Contents>>

Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.