Crea sito

Categorized | ENGLISH, Events

The USA team won 2012 Buffett Cup

Posted on 14 September 2012

leggi in italiano »

The USA team won 2012 Buffett Cup defeating the Euro team by 107 a 103 Buffett Points. The event took place from from September 10th to 13th  in Omaha, Nebraska, home of the man whose name adorns the cup itself, Warren Buffett. The winner team was composed of Bob Hamman-Justin Lall, Joe Grue-Curtis Cheek, Alan Sontag-David Berkowitz, Jill Levin-Jenni Wolpert, Joel Wooldridge-John Hurd, Fred Gitelman-Brad Moss and Donna Compton (not playing captain). The Euro team was composed of  Fulvio Fantoni- Claudio Nunes, Sally Brock- Nicola Smith, Michel Bessis-Thomas Bessis, Ricco van Prooijen-Luke Verhees, Kalin Karaivanov-Rumen Trendafilov, Paul Hackett-Tom Hanlon and Paul Porteous (not playing captain).

The Buffett Cup is a transatlantic challenge between twelve American players and twelve European ones. 

The first part of the story of unofficial transatlantic matches begins in 1930 with the match Culbertson-Buller, won by the former, and ends in Philadelphia, 1976, where the “Colonists” defeated the “Redcoats”. Those matches were all Anglo-American, but two exceptions: a Usa-French in early 1930 (then before the Culbertson-Buller), and another Usa-French in July 1937, when the American Squad rested some days in Paris before to go in Hungary for the World Championship won by the Paul Stern’s Austria Team.

The dawn of the nowadays part of this story was in Dublin, 2006, and the fathers were Paul Hackett with his Manchester Bridge Club, B. J. O’Brien and the Contract Bridge Association of Ireland, and an important sponsor: Warren Buffett.

It is the fourth time the Buffett Cup – the new transatlantic challenge-   was played. The overall score is 3 to 1 in favour of Team USA, who  won in 2010 and 2006 as well. Team Europe won in 2008.


September 14, 2012

(Visited 111 times, 1 visits today)

Comments are closed.

Giorgino Duboin’s column

Italian style 02The Neapolitan Club staff is honoured to welcome a new illustrious contributor: Giorgino Duboin. The great Italian champion will write a series of articles mostly dedicated to his international bridge activities. Duboin’s Column »

Norberto Bocchi’s column

MyWay-logoThe great Italian champion Norberto Bocchi contributes articles on a regular basis to Neapolitan Club. Norberto refers in his column ‘My Way’ to political issues which may arise in the bridge world and sometimes he describes interesting hands. Read Bocchi’s column»   Read Bocchi’s interviews»

Rhoda Walsh Notes

Rhoda_WalshWalsh No Trump Notes by Rhoda Walsh: a study on No Trump openings with their developments  in uncontested and contested auctions. Table of Contents »
Annotations by Rhoda Walsh on the 1 Notrump game forcing  response in the "2 over 1 game forcing system" (Walsh System).Table of Contents»

Simply the Best

Best articles by Paolo Enrico Garrisi: open »

Let’s talk to the Champions!

Best interviews run by Laura Camponeschi: open »

Momorizing at Bridge

Are there techniques to develop some specific memory? Could be possible to make a choice of what might be more useful to memorize? Read what the champions say: open »

Silvio Sbarigia


SILVIO SBARIGIA is a pharmacist; he was born in Rome and lives there. He has won the European championship in 1975 with legendary Blue Team, runner up at 1974’s and at Olympic games of 1976.  Sbarigia is member of Neapolitan Club Technical Commettee. His bridge problems aren’t difficult; just we need to think on a plan and to avoid the instinctive playing. Bridge quizzes by Sbarigia »

Laura Cecilia Porro

Laura-Cecilia-Porro 142
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.