Crea sito

Categorized | ENGLISH, Events, Poznan

“European Open” Poznan 2011: Women Teams

Posted on 13 June 2011

leggi in italiano »

 The European Open Bridge Championship is a transnational event held every two years. There are eight competitions: mixed, women, senior and open, for pairs and teams. The pairs play three sessions: qualification, semi-finals and final; the teams will play a round robin phase (in groups), that has to select thirty-two of them (or sixteen, according to the number of participants), to knockout phase. The Poznan edition is the fifth: the preceding were Mentone, Tenerife, Antalya, Sanremo.

The registrations are formally closed, but there’s still the possibility to be accepted if aren’t technical problems, as to make odd an even group, for example. See in the program how to do it:

The event is hosted in the Poznan International Fair Centre, next to railway station.

Despite the name – European – this is a world event: there are not nationality restriction for players, nor for pairs, nor for teams. For example, Swenor has Norwegian and Swedish players: Kathrine Bertheau, Jessica Larsson, Catarina Midskog, Siv Thoresen. Well, we have to acknowledge that a Norway-Sweden team isn’t exactly a “melting pot”; we quoted them more because are strong.

Farther nationalities, German and US, are in the Team of Geeske Joel, with Janice Seamon-Molson, Sabine Auken, Tobi Sokolow, Jillian Meyers, Jill Levin; there are many Venice Cups inside them.

Despite the missing of Sabine Auken, snapped up by Americans, the German Ladies look by no means weak: Annaig Della Monta, Barbara Hackett, Beate Nehmert (called Pony), Cristina Giampietro; the last, of Italian origins, is very young.

An Italian team won in 2003 at Mentone, and three of them, in bold letters, are again here, in team Italia: Gianna Arrigoni, Gabriella Olivieri, Simonetta Paoluzi, Cristina Golin, Caterina Ferlazzo, Gabriella Manara.

In Sanremo, two years ago, another Italian team won: the GBC Milano, with Gloria Colombo Brugnoni, Mietta Preve, Luigina Gentili, Annalisa Rosetta, Marilina Vanuzzi, Maddalena Severgnini. The last has been replaced in Poznam by Angela Dossena.

The Italia-San Marino Team hasn’t yet won: Maria Cristina Perlini, Lea M. Stacchini, Maurizia Ritiani, Antonia Pecci.

Benedicte Cronier, Sylvie Willard, Catherine D’Ovidio, and Veronique Bessis are four sixths of the French team who the past year won European Open Championship in Ostend. They are here as well.

There – in Ostend – were runner up Carla Arnolds, Bep Vriend, Jet Pasman, Anneke Simons, Laura Dekkers, Marion Michielsen, but in Antalya the same Netherlanders won the 2007 edition (without Laura Dekkers, and with Meike Wortel).

Add that the French ladies won 2005’s Tenerife edition, add many Polish team (we are in Poland, after all), and it is clear that this event has strength not less to a World Championship – but there are not Chinese teams between Women so far).

Last: the programme allows to play all the eight tourneys, with good discounts for multiple entries – well, only six if, unluckily, you’re under sixty yo.


Paolo Enrico Garrisi

(Visited 297 times, 1 visits today)

Comments are closed.

Giorgino Duboin’s column

Italian style 02The Neapolitan Club staff is honoured to welcome a new illustrious contributor: Giorgino Duboin. The great Italian champion will write a series of articles mostly dedicated to his international bridge activities. Duboin’s Column »

Norberto Bocchi’s column

MyWay-logoThe great Italian champion Norberto Bocchi contributes articles on a regular basis to Neapolitan Club. Norberto refers in his column ‘My Way’ to political issues which may arise in the bridge world and sometimes he describes interesting hands. Read Bocchi’s column»   Read Bocchi’s interviews»

Rhoda Walsh Notes

Rhoda_WalshWalsh No Trump Notes by Rhoda Walsh: a study on No Trump openings with their developments  in uncontested and contested auctions. Table of Contents »
Annotations by Rhoda Walsh on the 1 Notrump game forcing  response in the "2 over 1 game forcing system" (Walsh System).Table of Contents»

Simply the Best

Best articles by Paolo Enrico Garrisi: open »

Let’s talk to the Champions!

Best interviews run by Laura Camponeschi: open »

Momorizing at Bridge

Are there techniques to develop some specific memory? Could be possible to make a choice of what might be more useful to memorize? Read what the champions say: open »

Silvio Sbarigia


SILVIO SBARIGIA is a pharmacist; he was born in Rome and lives there. He has won the European championship in 1975 with legendary Blue Team, runner up at 1974’s and at Olympic games of 1976.  Sbarigia is member of Neapolitan Club Technical Commettee. His bridge problems aren’t difficult; just we need to think on a plan and to avoid the instinctive playing. Bridge quizzes by Sbarigia »

Laura Cecilia Porro

Laura-Cecilia-Porro 142
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.