Get a site

Brogeland Wins 2016 Lazard Sportsmanship Award

Leggi in italiano »

Boye Brogeland (Elisabeth van Ettinger)Boye Brogeland wins the 2016 Sidney H. Lazard Jr. Sportsmanship Award. The award was established by Sidney Lazard in honor of his son, Sidney Jr., who died in 1999 after a year-long battle with cancer at the age of 41. This award is limited to top players and it is given to those who win with class and dignity.

The selection committee members are Steve Beatty, Zia Mahmood, and Steve Weinstein.

Formal presentation of the award will take place during the Hall of Fame ceremony at the Summer NABC in Washington DC.

Previous winners:

2015 Howard Weinstein

2014 Bob Hamman

2013 Benedicte Cronier and Sylvie Willard

2012 Michael Kamil

2011 Betty Ann Kennedy

2010 Roy Welland

2009 Peter Boyd

2008 Giorgio Duboin

2007 Seymon Deutsch

2006 Ralph Cohen

2005 Nick Nickell

2004 Lynn Deas

2003 Larry Cohen

2002 Rose Meltzer

2001 Paul Soloway

Giorgio Duboin is the only Italian top player who won the title in 2008. He was also the first person from outside the United States to be accorded the title.


(Visited 200 times, 1 visits today)
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.