Get a site

2017 Camrose: The Republic of Ireland is leading

Leggi in italiano »

The Camrose Trophy (Home International Series), is the yearly championship between the five countries of the British Isles: England, Wales, Ireland, North Ireland, Scotland; it takes place in two complete round robins, each by 32 board matches, to be played in two week-ends. The country which hosts the second week-end has the right to line up a second team; this is to avoid the bye. The second week-end is being played in Scotland, at Holyday Inn, in Edinburgh, therefore there is a second Scottish Team, the Scottish Bridge Union (SBU).

There have been seventy-three editions of the event, since the first one in 1937. England won fifty-one times, Scotland twelve, Republic of Ireland six, Wales once, and Northern Ireland none.

The first week-end matches were played in January at the Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire. This was the standing:


76.52 Republic of Ireland. NPC Grainne Barton. Tom Hanlon, Hugh McGann, Tommy Garvey, John Carroll, Mark Moran, Rory Boland


73.80 England. NPC David Burn. Frances Hinden, Graham Osborne, Martin Jones, Neil Rosen, Jeffrey Allerton, Chris Jagger.


53.34 Wales. NPC Alan Stephenson. Tim Rees, Gary Jones, Adrian Thomas, Paul Denning, Paul Lamford, Richard Placket


41.12 SBU. NPC Anne Symons, John Matheson, Iain Sime, Sam Punch, Stephen Peterkin, Alan Goodman, Brian Short.


32.95 Northern Ireland. NPC John Ferguson. Rex Anderson, David Greenwood, Ciara Burns, John Murchan, Greer Mackenzie, Hastings Campbell


20.27 Scotland. NPC Malcolm Cuthbertson. Mike Ash, Arend Bayer, Sandy Duncan, Jim Hay, Alex Adamson, Mike McGinley


In the second week-end, after three out of five matches, the ranking became:


Republic of Ireland 126.15

England 110

Wales 77.97

SBU 71.21

Northern Ireland 56.78

Scotland 35.89


Paolo Enrico Garrisi


2017 Camrose Trophy »



(Visited 201 times, 1 visits today)
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.