Crea sito

Categorized | ENGLISH, Events

2014 Schapiro Spring Foursomes: Round Three

Posted on 03 May 2014

Leggi in italiano »

Bocchi - Helness

After the two victories in her triangle, Lavazza is now facing Kendrik in Round 3rd: Catherine Curtis, Paul Fegarty, David Kendrick and Norman Selway. Kendrik’s victim in Round 2nd was Mossop, the team of Justin and Jason Hackett, the Manchester’s twins. There have been not surprises, so far; all the “great” teams are still running, and fifteen out of the best sixteen are undefeated, but from this round the matches become tougher.

The number two Allfrey (Alexander Allfrey, Tony Forrester, David Gold, Andrew Robson), is playing against Kent, which is lining up his strong Bulgarians (Rosen Gunev, Alistair Kent, Ivan Nanev, Stefan Skorchev).

The number three Sinclair (Sabine Auken, Zia Mahmood, Andrew McIntosh, Marion Michielsen, Anita Sinclair, Roy Welland), is playing against Seale (Chris Jagger, Ian Pagan, Catherine Seale, Jerry Stamatov).

The team 4th was Liggins, but having lost his triangle has slipped into the Once Defeated Pool. To remember: there are still thirty-two teams in Schapiro Spring Foursomes; sixteen are undefeated, sixteen are once defeated. The twice defeated, in Round 1st and 2nd of the head-to-head matches, are out but can play the PunchBowl, a subsidiary tourney (see the presentation article: Hearth and Feeling). The teams which have lost the triangle are formally “once defeated” even if they lost twice; Liggins only lost again Waterlow. From this round any defeat ceases to be “formal”.

The other five matches of the undefeated pool are the following:

Waterlow vs Moran; De Bottom vs Erichsen; Hauge vs Rosen; Hinden vs Patterson; Gillis vs Hackett (namely Paul Hackett).

The photo has been taken this afternoon after the round 2nd : Thor Helness, here with Norberto Bocchi, is playing in Rune Hauge’s Team.


Schapiro Spring Fours Results »



(Visited 382 times, 1 visits today)

Comments are closed.

Giorgino Duboin’s column

Italian style 02The Neapolitan Club staff is honoured to welcome a new illustrious contributor: Giorgino Duboin. The great Italian champion will write a series of articles mostly dedicated to his international bridge activities. Duboin’s Column »

Norberto Bocchi’s column

MyWay-logoThe great Italian champion Norberto Bocchi contributes articles on a regular basis to Neapolitan Club. Norberto refers in his column ‘My Way’ to political issues which may arise in the bridge world and sometimes he describes interesting hands. Read Bocchi’s column»   Read Bocchi’s interviews»

Rhoda Walsh Notes

Rhoda_WalshWalsh No Trump Notes by Rhoda Walsh: a study on No Trump openings with their developments  in uncontested and contested auctions. Table of Contents »
Annotations by Rhoda Walsh on the 1 Notrump game forcing  response in the "2 over 1 game forcing system" (Walsh System).Table of Contents»

Simply the Best

Best articles by Paolo Enrico Garrisi: open »

Let’s talk to the Champions!

Best interviews run by Laura Camponeschi: open »

Momorizing at Bridge

Are there techniques to develop some specific memory? Could be possible to make a choice of what might be more useful to memorize? Read what the champions say: open »

Silvio Sbarigia


SILVIO SBARIGIA is a pharmacist; he was born in Rome and lives there. He has won the European championship in 1975 with legendary Blue Team, runner up at 1974’s and at Olympic games of 1976.  Sbarigia is member of Neapolitan Club Technical Commettee. His bridge problems aren’t difficult; just we need to think on a plan and to avoid the instinctive playing. Bridge quizzes by Sbarigia »

Laura Cecilia Porro

Laura-Cecilia-Porro 142
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.