Get a site

2013 May: Bridge World News

Leggi in italiano »

angra 2013Brazil – The 63th South American Bridge Championships (Angra dos Reis 2013) are organized by Brazilian Federation Bridge under the auspices of the South American Bridge Confederation. The Championships are held at the Hotel Porto Bello, Mangaratiba, (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) from from May 25 to June 1, 2013. The main events are: the South American Open Pairs Championship, the South American Teams Championship (reserved only for official teams from each member country) and the Transnational Teams Tournament. Info and Results at official site:


Canadian Champ logo 2013Canada – The 2013 Canadian Bridge Championships are held from May 25 to June 1, 2013 at Delta Toronto Hotel in Toronto (Canada). The 2013 CSTC (Canadian Senior Team Championship) Champions will represent Canada in the d’Orsi Senior Bowl at the 41st World Bridge Team Championshis in Bali, Indonesia 16-29 Sep 2013. Info and results at official site:


Danmark LadiesIceland – 2013 Nordic Bridge Championships: Iceland (with Aðalsteinn Jörgensen – Bjarni H. Einarsson, Guðmundur Snorrason – Ragnar Hermannsson, Jón Baldursson – Þorlákur Jónsson and Guðmundur Páll Arnarson npc) won the Open event and Denmark (with Christina Lund Madsen, Fie Houlberg, Lone Bilde, Helle Rasmussen, Peter Kraunsøe npc and Bo Bilde coach) won the Women’s event. The Nordic Bridge Championships were held in Keflavik (Iceland) from May 24th to 26th, 2013. (read article >>)


Liz McGowanUK – The Scotland team won the the Senior Camrose (Teltscher Trophy): Alan Goodman & Brian Short, Irving Gordon & Danny Kane, Liz McGowan & David Liggat with NPC Anne Symons. Northern Ireland were second and England third. More info at official website:




juanlpFrance – Anna Sarniak and Andrzej Jaszczak from Poland won the mixed pairs tournament at the 2013 Bridge Festival of Juan-les Pins. Runners-up were Joanna neve and Pierre Schmidt, Anneke van der Meer and Rob Jagroop became third in a field of 134 pairs. In the Triathlon event, the winnwers were Pierre Schmid and Jean-Jacques Palau, runners-up Paul Chemla and Robert Reiplinger. The Triathlon is a new two-day format and consists of 3 different scores ( IMP Pairs, Matchpoint Pairs and Board-a-Match). Philippe Poizat and Bernard Cabanes won the open pairs tournament; Philippe Chottin e Pierre Schmidt became second in a field of 224 pairs. Monaco team (Pierre Zimmermann, Frank Multon, Fulvio Fantoni, Tor Helness, Claudio Nunes, Geir Helgemo) won the Patton. More info at official site:


Bali 2013
41st World Bridge Team Championships, Nusa Dua, Bali, Indonesia • 16 – 29 September 2013. The Netherlands and Poland have announced their teams for Bali. For the Bermuda Bowl (Open) the Dutch team consists of the winners of Veldhoven with a new not playing captain, Onno Esked (54) and a new coach, Ton Bakkeren: Sjoert BRINK, Bas DRIJVER, Bauke MULLER, Ricco van PROOIJEN, Louk VERHEES JR, Simon de WIJS. For the Venice Cup (Women) the Dutch team consists of Carla ARNOLDS, Marion MICHIELSEN, Jet PASMAN, Anneke SIMONS (Netherlands), Meike WORTEL, Wietske van ZWOL, Alex van REENEN (npc), Hans KELDER (coach).

Poland qualified in all three categories: Open, Women, Seniors. For the Bermuda Bowl the team consists of Cezary BALICKI, Krzysztof BURAS, Krzysztof JASSEM, Marcin MAZURKIEWICZ, Grzegorz NARKIEWICZ, Adam ZMUDZINSKI, Piotr WALCZAK (npc) and Marek WOJCICKI (coach); for the Venice Cup: Katarzyna DUFRAT, Danuta KAZMUCHA, Cathy BALDYSZ, Joanna TACZEWSKA, Justyna ZMUDA, Miroslaw CICHOCKI (npc) and Cezary SEREK (coach); for the Senior Bowl: Julian KLUKOWSKI, Apolinary KOWALSKI, Krzysztof LASOCKI, Victor MARKOWICZ, Jacek ROMANSKI, Jerzy RUSSYAN, Wlodzimierz WALA (npc) and Andrzej BIERNACKI (coach). Poland is the only country in the Zone 1 (Europe) to have 3 qualified teams for Bali.


Paul Hackett (Ebu)England – The Hackett team (Paul Hackett, Tom Hanlon, Peter Lester, Hugh McGann, Ian Panto) won the 2013 Crockfords Cup. Runner-up was Irens team (Nick Irens, Espen Erichsen, Tom Townsend, Zia Mahmood, David Bakhshi). The Crockfords Cup is England’s premier teams championship and consists of five rounds of knock-out matches played privately, qualifying eight teams to contest an all-play-all final. The fina stage of the event was played 11-12 May, 2013. Official site:



senior germanGermany – Denmark won the 2013 German Bridge Trophy. The winner team consists of Peter Schaltz-Steen Møller e Knud-Aage Boesgaard-HC Nielsen: They are the Seniors players which will represent Denmark at the next World Championships in Bali. The event was held from the 8th to the 10th May 2013 in Bonn. More info at officiale site:





Egypt Open TeamReunion Island – The 7th ABF (Africa Bridge Federation)  Zonal Championships have been completed: Egypt and South Africa grabbed the access to the World Championships of Bali 2013 (Zone 8) for Bermuda Bowl, Venice Cup and Seniors Bowl. The event took place in Saint Denis de la Reunion from 4 to 11 May 2013. More info at official site:



This article will be updated throughout the month of May


(Visited 796 times, 1 visits today)
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.